Tag Archives: Concert

A work by Elia Koussa performed by David Danel at Tehran Contemporary Music Festival

A work by Elia Koussa was performed by Czech artist David Danel at Tehran Contemporary Music Festival, on April 26, 2018. It is entitled “Sermon of an ex-statue”.

TCMF is an international event in the fields of contemporary music. It is an independent cultural and artistic event held annually with lectures and performances including experimental and improvisational presentations. It took places this year at the end of April, with musicians from Belgium, Switzerland, Italy, Czech Republic, Germany and Poland who attended this year. A total of 130 musicians in 27 ensembles have entered the lineup of the event.

About  “Sermon of an ex-statue” or fdrfh

“fdrfh (shadrafah) was a north Arabian god worshiped for protection and prosperity by the Arab and Aramaean tribes living in and around Palmyra in southern Syria before Islam. In the story “Layl”, written by the composer of this piece a year ago, many of the ex-gods of the arabic and middle eastern region are sought, revived and transformed to archetypes, becoming teachers, reminding other statues of their salvation. fdrfh, as a response to the destroyers (of statues and culture), is the protector or shepherd, given the task for care and help of others, reminding of innocence, compassion, support and honesty, away from the modern concept of safety (spread by the modern “consuming hospitals” (medias, fanatic religions…)).

Elia Koussa

Piano Concert by Elia Koussa at Pierre Abou Khater USJ – Tue, 6 Feb 2018

You are cordially invited to a Piano Concert given by the composer and pianist Elia Koussa.

In Program: 
The 3 Great B’s : Brahms, Bach, Beethoven.
(check the invitation card for the detailed program).
Date : Tuesday, 6 February 2018.
Time: 8:00 PM 
Place :
Pierre aboukhater theatre, Humanities Campus, Université Saint-Joseph, Damascus Road, Beirut, Lebanon


Piano Concert – Safadi Cultural Center – 16/12/17

Safadi Cultural Center and the Lebanese National Higher Conservatory of Music
proudly invite you
to a Piano Concert
by Elia Koussa.

Date : December 16, at 6:00 p.m.
Address : Safadi Cultural Center, Maarad, Ramzi Safadi street, Tripoli-Lebanon.


1- Johannes Brahms (1833-1897)

Four pieces for piano, opus 119

  1. Intermezzo opus 119 no. 1 in B minor
  2. Intermezzo opus 119 no 2 in E minor
  3. Intermezzo opus 119 no. 3 in C major
  4. Rhapsody opus 119 no 4 in E-flat major

2- Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750)

Toccata and Fugue in D minor BWV 565 (for organ),

Arranged for solo piano by Ferruccio Busoni.

3- Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827)

Sonata for piano opus 111 in C minor

  1. Maestoso-Allegro con brio ed appassionato
  2. Arietta: Adagio molto semplice e cantabile